Beef casserole

ImageI don’t love beef. There, I said it. I don’t love it, don’t shoot me, please, it is all a matter of taste.

Having said that, I don’t hate it either. So, whenever Mr. S asks me to cook it for him, I am not doing cartwheels, but I don’t run away screaming either. In fact, I have a safety recipe, which helps me come out of the beef predicament with my head held high and my dignity intact.

Mr. S loves it.

It is no nuclear physics, but I have one tiny little secret that always saves the day.

Before I go into the actual recipe, let me just say one thing: You may have noticed, but I try to keep my (our) oil intake to an absolute minimum. I choose to receive the oil everyone needs (about 2-3 Tb daily) raw, in salads. I do that because a) I don’t like to receive unnecessary calories, and, believe me, your food does not really need oil to be tasty, and b) raw olive oil is much healthier than cooked. Oh, and it’s always olive oil, unless otherwise stated.

Now, what we will need, is:

250gr good quality beef (whatever you like, we will cut it in bite-sized pieces, so take your pick)

Some oil

2 cloves garlic, mashed

1 onion, chopped

2 carrots, chopped

1 tomato, chopped

About 1lt vegetable stock

2 Tb Barilla Basil Sauce (yes, secret ingredient!)

100gr mushrooms, chopped

 

Put some oil (how much is your choice, it depends on how you cook) in a large non-stick pan and brown the beef, turning it around for few minutes, over high heat. Season it too, I always forget to mention this, but I think it goes without saying, right? Once it is nice and brown, remove it from the pan, along with any oil or juices.

Return the pan on the heat and in it sauté the onion and carrots until the onion is translucent. Add the tomato, turn it around for, say, a minute or so, add the sauce and the vegetable stock, lower the heat and let it simmer for half an hour.

Add the mushrooms, let it cook for another 10 minutes and you’re done. Serve this on a bed of basmati rice, and I promise, it is always a winner!

 

Leave a Reply

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

The Homemaker's Life - A Creative Lifestyle Blog

''Who can find a virtuous woman? For her price is far above rubies'' -Proverbs 31:10 KJV

Warning:Curves Ahead

vintage style for the modern dame

Plate it up recipes

food recipes that lifts your mood!!!

the (un)complicated kitchen

~ good food made easy ~

Inside Kel's Kitchen

Love to eat, love to cook, and trying to keep it healthy!

inte fan gör det det

Alla säger:det ordnar sig....inte fan gör det det..

Sophia's news, reviews and cooking tips

This blog focuses on current events, news stories and articles. You will also find theatre reviews, London life, vegetarian cooking, photography, scepticism and rants about Tony Blair

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

